GOAL 4. Build a Robust University System

NMSU seeks to improve the University System, across the board, for faculty, staff, students, alumni, donors, stakeholders, and prospective students and their families. Cooperation throughout the NMSU system will be exemplary for university systems across the nation through efficient, effective, and empowering operations that align with our strategic goals.


4.1 Advance equity, inclusion and diversity and effectively support students, faculty and staff
4.2 Cultivate faculty and staff excellence, enhance productivity and improve the work climate
4.3 Nimbly respond to a dynamic higher ed environment, optimizing systems, processes and space utilization





Current Priorities

Priorities Centralized Initiatives Examples at Unit Level
Improve staff, faculty and student diversity, inclusion and engagement Understand current level of system-wide support, and develop a more integrated plan to implement Use diversity plan and best practices for hiring and retention
Improve business and operational practices and processes to achieve a culture of service and excellence Map current processes and reduce steps, approvals to better meet user needs and improve process timeliness and accuracy Use Lean process improvement methods at College/Unit levels for local level improvements
Elevate information and communication technologies to support NMSU community, systems and security Launch system-wide ICT Futures Group to start the process to envision the future of information technology services at NMSU. Nine Tiger Teams involving ICT staff, college and unit faculty and staff, students, administrative leadership and others were appointed to review and get input on current operations and present recommendations on several topic areas: Learn More: https://leads2025.nmsu.edu/goal-4/ict-futures/

KPIs with Current Measures











Goal Champions

Ruth Johnston, Vice Chancellor and Strategic Chief Financial Officer
Andy Burke, Senior Vice President of Administration and Finance

Goal 4 - Team Members

First Name Last Name Title Affiliation
D'Anne Stuart Associate Vice President Office of Administration and Finance
Gena Jones Assistant Vice President Human Resource Services
Abby Denham Director Employment and Compensation Services
Ann Coombes Goodman Dean of Students Student Life
Maura Gonsior Director Employee and Labor Relations
Luis Campos Associate Vice President Facilities and Services
Ken Van Winkle President Alamogordo Community College
Lauren Goldstein Organizational Development Specialist Office of the Chancellor
Melody Munson-McGee Chief of Staff Office of the President
Renay Scott Vice President for Student Success Student Success & Enrollment Management
BJ Maestas Manager

ICT FSA Business Solutions & Human Resource Information Systems (HRIS)

Ermelinda Quintela Senior Administrator, Strategic System Services Office of the Chancellor
Kim Rumford Chief Budget Officer Budget Office
Chris Kielt Affiliated Staff Office of the Chancellor
Teresa Maria Linda Scholz Vice President for Equity, Inclusion and Diversity Office of the President

Advisory Group

First Name Last Name Title Affiliation
Julia Parra Associate Professor Curriculum and Instruction
Letty Gallegos Academic Advisor Center for Academic Advising and Student Support
Dacia Sedillo University Registrar University Student Records Office
Kelly Brooks Vice President of Business and Finance DACC Business Office
Justin Bannister Associate Vice President Marketing and Communications
Mary Jo Billiot Interim Associate Dean College of Business
Sheri Pettit Administrative Assistant, Special/Executive College of Arts and Sciences
Alisha Giron Assistant Vice President Research Administration

Previous Participants

First Name Last Name Title Affiliation
Greg Fant Associate Vice President & Deputy Provost Office of the Provost
Kathy Brook Associate Dean College of Business
Katrina Doolittle Executive Director Environmental Health Safety & Risk Management
Norma Grijalva Chief Info Officer ICT
Laura Boucheron Spence Associate Professor Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Melina Burnside Vice President ASNMSU