NMSU recognizes that all disciplines advance research, scholarship and creative activity, and along with the assets of the state of New Mexico, create a strong foundation for teaching, learning, education, training, innovation, and economic development.


2.1. Facilitate the convergence of research and creative activity to address local and global challenges, integrated with undergraduate and graduate student education

2.2 Intentionally grow humanities, social sciences and creative arts to achieve comprehensive excellence in research and creative activity

2.3 Amplify impact of research findings by addressing local needs that align with global challenges

2.4 Amplify impact of research on society and the economy and promote international collaboration by accelerating technology and knowledge transfer





Current Priorities

Priorities Centralized Initiatives Examples at Unit Level
Grow non-STEM expenditures PI Academy; NEH workshop Compete for funding & graduate fellowships; Seek chairs & professorships
Increase PhDs in humanities & social sciences Align resources (GAs, faculty hires); Streamline approval process College of Arts & Sciences proposed Border Studies program
Grow STEM expenditures Go after and win high impact proposals (e.g. Energy Desalination Hub) Increase number and quality of proposal written per year by each department
Increase post-doctoral researchers and research staff with doctorates Pilot Post-Doc program; Professional development program Include post-doctoral fellows on proposals; Ask for cost share if needed

KPIs with Current Measures

Goal Champions

Luis Cifuentes, Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School
Kathy Hansen, Director of Arrowhead Center

Goal 2 - Team Members

First Name Last Name Title Affiliation email
Luis Cifuentes Vice President of Research and Graduate School Dean Office of the Vice President of Research lacifuen@nmsu.edu
Kathy Hansen Director Arrowhead Center hansen@nmsu.edu
Ken Van Winkle President Alamogordo Community College kvanwink@nmsu.edu
Laura Boucheron Associate Professor Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering lboucher@nmsu.edu
Jim Murphy Associate Dean College of Arts & Sciences murphy@nmsu.edu
Becky Corran Chair Faculty Senate bcorran@nmsu.edu
Lakshmi Reddi Dean College of Engineering lnr@nmsu.edu
Jim Chavez Director Physical Science Laboratory jimc@nmsu.edu
Rolston St. Hilaire Academic Department Head Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences rsthilai@nmsu.edu
Miriam Chaiken Dean Honors College mchaiken@nmsu.edu
Sean Sellers President Graduate Student Council sellers@nmsu.edu
Jesus Sambrano, Jr. Post Doctoral Department of Chemical & Materials Engineering jssambra@nmsu.edu