NMSU outreach extends knowledge beyond the university, drives integration of activities, directly and indirectly, and supports student learning, experiences, and success. Our outreach activities include research, connections with communities and families, multigenerational engagement, economic development and entrepreneurship, and collaborative efforts with industry, corporations, and government entities.

Objectives

3.1. Be a leader in place-based innovation and in economic and community development

3.2 Develop and implement innovative and culturally responsive PK-20 outreach, professional development, and continuing education programs that support social mobility

3.3 Improve PK-20 Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) education

3.4 Strengthen and elevate public–private engagement

3.5 Amplify Cooperative Extension and outreach programs and services to increase support for businesses, individuals, and communities

 

 

Priorities

PrioritiesCentralized InitiativesExamples at Unit Level
Develop an iterative process to plan, implement, assess, and modify a reporting system that will document Extension and outreach impacts across the NMSU system Review & Aadjust Digital Measures and "expertise.nmsu.edu" resourcesDepartmental training on developing outreach impact documents and Digital Measures
Understand and disseminate information on current outreach efforts; establish mechanisms to better align existing efforts and more readily enable new opportunities.Develop system-wide inventory of all NMSU outreach programsDepartmental inventory of outreach and community engagement activities
Connect the Extension network with other NMSU Colleges and units to leverage current and future outreach Develop university-wide opportunities to share collaborative outreach opportunities between Colleges/Units and ExtensionDepartmental faculty meeting with Extension faculty to facilitate collaborative opportunities
Hold an university-wide Outreach Conference to promote collaboration between the Cooperative Extension Service and faculty from other NMSU Colleges and units
Develop and implement a framework for system-wide, holistic, corporate engagement to support growth in corporate relationships, industry sponsored research, and philanthropy Identify framework for engagement levels and responsibilitiesSummarize current corporate relationships and impacts

KPIs with Current Measures

7. OUTREACH & EXTENSION EXPENDITURES


Goal Champions

Jon Boren, Associate Dean/Director of Cooperative Extension Service
Wayne Savage, Executive Director of Arrowhead Park

Goal 3 - Team Members

First NameLast NameTitleAffiliation email
JonBorenAssociate Dean/DirectorCooperative Extension Servicejboren@nmsu.edu
WayneSavageExecutive Director of Arrowhead ParkArrowhead Centerwaynes@nmsu.edu
LennyMartinezChief of StaffOffice of the Chancellorjlmarti@nmsu.edu
Kathy HansenDirectorArrowhead Centerhansen@nmsu.edu
JohnGrattonPresidentCarlsbad Community Collegejgratton@nmsu.edu
SonyaCooperInterim Dean College of Health and Social Servicessocooper@nmsu.edu
PatriciaSullivanAssociate DeanCollege of Engineeringpatsulli@nmsu.edu
Mary AliceScottAssocaite ProfessorDepartment of Anthropologymscott2@nmsu.ed
CheyanneCarlisleStudent College of Agriculture, Consumer and Environmental Sciencecalisle@nmsu.edu
SteveBeckExtension Department HeadExtension 4-H Youth Development sbeck@nmsu.edu
Melody Munson-McGeeChief of StaffOffice of the Presidentmmunsonm@nmsu.edu
BraunCartwrightChief Operating OfficerAthleticsbraunc@nmsu.edu